Skip to content
Hammersmith and Fulham Counts — Hammersmith and Fulham, in numbers.Local help →

Hammersmith and Fulham, in numbers

People and living standards

Hammersmith and Fulham council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Hammersmith and Fulham council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 153,794 in 1991 to 190,216 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Hammersmith and Fulham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 154,951 people in 1996; 190,216 people in 2025. 22.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Hammersmith and Fulham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991153,794
1992153,282
1993152,504
1994153,762
1995153,482
1996154,951
1997155,105
1998155,458
1999160,634
2000164,393
2001169,374
2002171,989
2003171,510
2004172,083
2005173,292
2006174,675
2007176,472
2008177,088
2009180,116
2010180,842
2011182,445
2012184,439
2013186,056
2014186,659
2015187,246
2016187,472
2017187,720
2018189,037
2019188,562
2020186,555
2021183,310
2022187,187
2023189,683
2024190,803
2025190,216
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Hammersmith and Fulham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,753 people in 1996; 27,078 people in 2025. 5.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Hammersmith and Fulham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199123,786
199224,260
199324,645
199425,165
199525,403
199625,753
199725,912
199826,144
199926,808
200027,026
200127,296
200227,815
200328,153
200427,977
200527,980
200627,863
200728,011
200828,355
200928,953
201029,337
201129,646
201229,786
201329,873
201429,969
201529,742
201629,888
201730,217
201830,351
201930,012
202029,372
202128,467
202228,395
202327,900
202427,687
202527,078
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Hammersmith and Fulham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 111,044 people in 1996; 141,760 people in 2025. 27.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Hammersmith and Fulham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991110,453
1992109,784
1993108,865
1994109,806
1995109,634
1996111,044
1997111,338
1998111,673
1999116,383
2000120,000
2001124,743
2002126,972
2003126,325
2004127,238
2005128,541
2006130,069
2007131,964
2008132,390
2009134,791
2010135,103
2011136,275
2012137,722
2013138,870
2014139,056
2015139,622
2016139,509
2017139,139
2018140,105
2019139,631
2020138,191
2021135,728
2022139,315
2023141,625
2024142,407
2025141,760
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Hammersmith and Fulham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,154 people in 1996; 21,378 people in 2025. 17.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Hammersmith and Fulham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,555
199219,238
199318,994
199418,791
199518,445
199618,154
199717,855
199817,641
199917,443
200017,367
200117,335
200217,202
200317,032
200416,868
200516,771
200616,743
200716,497
200816,343
200916,372
201016,402
201116,524
201216,931
201317,313
201417,634
201517,882
201618,075
201718,364
201818,581
201918,919
202018,992
202119,115
202219,477
202320,158
202420,709
202521,378
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 183,156 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hammersmith and Fulham · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh19,30610.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African22,45312.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups12,3186.7%
White115,67963.2%
Other ethnic group13,4007.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 182,493 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hammersmith and Fulham · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White124,22268.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups10,0445.5%
Asian/Asian British16,6359.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British21,50511.8%
Other ethnic group10,0875.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 165,242 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hammersmith and Fulham · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White128,60277.8%
Mixed6,3003.8%
Asian/Asian British7,3334.4%
Black/Black British18,39711.1%
Chinese/Other4,6102.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 104% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Hammersmith and Fulham council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £20,693 per person in 1997; £52,970 per person in 2024. 156% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Hammersmith and Fulham council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199720,693
199820,831
199921,943
200023,568
200123,659
200223,100
200324,085
200425,682
200527,710
200629,753
200732,565
200833,927
200933,663
201032,782
201131,363
201233,020
201336,157
201438,424
201539,633
201638,957
201739,315
201840,932
201941,666
202041,236
202144,077
202246,139
202349,971
202452,970
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Hammersmith and Fulham council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 95% in 1997; 104% in 2024. 9 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Hammersmith and Fulham council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199795
199892.4
199994
200098
200191.2
200282.6
200384.8
200489.2
200597.1
2006103.2
2007112.2
2008115.4
2009110.2
2010103
201192.5
201295.5
2013106.4
2014112.5
2015108.3
2016102.3
201799.6
2018100.5
201997.7
202096.5
2021101.8
2022100.9
2023104.4
2024104
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

63.4%

21 March 2021 · Hammersmith and Fulham council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.5%

21 March 2021 · Hammersmith and Fulham council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

11.9%

21 March 2021 · Hammersmith and Fulham council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.1%

21 March 2021 · Hammersmith and Fulham council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£738,000

July 2026 · Hammersmith and Fulham council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£2,825

August 2026 · Hammersmith and Fulham council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.